Simply Heaven on My Life as a Foodie

I was recently featured on an episode of the podcast “My Life as a Foodie”, hosted by my friend Phil.  He and his wife came to our home for an afternoon together a couple of weekends ago, where we talked about the food of Syria, the culture of my country, and the importance food plays in our every day life there.

After the interview, we moved to my kitchen where we prepared Kebbeh together — both baked and fried.  Phil conducted an interview with me as we cooked together.  At one point, while talking about my home country, I began to tear up — but I swear it was the onions.  Damn, those onions!  I prepared many dishes that day, including a few of Maza style dishes, Baba ganoush (roasted eggplant dip), Mohamara (roasted peppers & walnuts pesto), Stuffed Grape Leaves toped with steak and artichoke, Salad, Greek style yogurt with fresh mints and cucumbers, a couple of different meats (Sujouk & Nakanek) and few different types of bread (meat, cheese, and spinach) it was just a delicious feast.
Later that night, many friends that I’d invited to join us for dinner arrived and we had a great evening together, sharing all of the Syrian dishes I’d spent the last few days preparing.  My brother joined us and shared many stories with everyone as we ate dinner.  It was a wonderful day with friends and family.

Listen to the podcast episode 48 :: giving thanks  at  http://mylifeasafoodie.com/

I Hope you Enjoy listing to it and HAPPY HOLIDAYS!

~ by simplyheavenfood on December 2, 2009.

8 Responses to “Simply Heaven on My Life as a Foodie”

  1. There you are! I was wondering where you had gone! I miss your gorgeous food posts. I wish I could have come to your dinner, sounds delish!

  2. Such a great episode!! I feel like I really got to learn about your family life in Syria. xo

  3. I listened Afaf! It was so good – so interesting to hear more about your life in Syria and then here. And then to listen along as you guys cooked together! It was simply heaven. Glad to see you back on your blog. xoxo

  4. I just listened to your wonderful interview. I have learned so much about food, cooking, rituals,family and life in Syria. I enjoyed it so much. Thanks.

  5. Hi Afaf!!! had to listen to your show a few more times!!! It gets better and better every time I hear it. I love this. Hope one day to see you discussing your cooking techniques on a TV talk show. Always wishing you the best, all my love.

  6. it’s great that you have friends that are interested in your food culture. Missing your food pictures though!

  7. Hello my famous friend

    I enjoyed very much listening to your interview …
    I love the part when he asked you if you are crying…

    It was a very interesting episode, learned a lot about you and your life in Syria…
    Great job my famous friend.

  8. I am so curious now but I will wait to be back in the US to listen to it; it takes forever to download anything out of Lebanon!

Leave a comment