The Works…All in one Feast

I love my brother Sam and love to make little treats for him because he is such an amazing person. I always try to make him happy, and luckily for me our feelings are mutual.

Sam has a very busy schedule so I don’t get to see him every day. Both of our lives are filled with work, kids, school, and sports.

On friday night he called me to come over to have a cup of tea but I was on my way out the door with a group of friends. I apologized to my brother with a lump in my heart, because not seeing him for two weeks was just too long!

So I wanted to make it up to him and invited him over for Sunday dinner. Then I started getting busy making his favorite meals. These are dishes that we grew up with when we lived in Syria, and it was my way of saying “I love you” to my wonderful brother.

Here are the dishes that I made:

Stuffed with ground sirloin & Rice Mediterranean Zucchini boiled in marinara sauce, garlic, mints, amazing dish. (Kusa)

Then I made Kebbeh which is baked sirloin & bulgur.

I made homemade Chicken Fettuccini with sourdough bread

Vinaigrette home made cooked beet salad, really quick and easy, yet packed with flavor.

Tomatoes and peppers salad which requires very little preparation and it has a very nice presentation, and really complemented the kebbeh dish.

And then for Dessert:

Walnuts & Pistachios Baklavas.

Vinaigrette Home Made Cooked Beet Salad

Vinaigrette Home Made Cooked Beet Salad

Vinaigrette Home Made Cooked Beet Salad

Chicken Fettuccini

Chicken Fettuccini

Chicken Fettuccini

Kibbeh

Balsamic Tomatoes and Peppers Salad

Balsamic Tomatoes and Peppers Salad

Balsamic Tomatoes and Peppers Salad

Sirloin & Rice Stuffed Zucchini

Sirloin & Rice Stuffed Zucchini

Sirloin & Rice Stuffed Zucchini

Sirloin & Rice Stuffed Zucchini

kusa9Sirloin & Rice Stuffed Zucchini

Sirloin & Rice Stuffed Zucchini

Sirloin & Rice Stuffed Zucchini

Sirloin & Rice Stuffed Zucchini

Sirloin & Rice Stuffed Zucchini

Sirloin & Rice Stuffed Zucchini

Sirloin & Rice Stuffed Zucchini

Sirloin & Rice Stuffed Zucchini

Sirloin & Rice Stuffed Zucchini

Walnuts & Pistachio Baklavas

Walnuts & Pistachio Baklavas

We had some great moments…ate, talked and laughed!

We all really enjoyed it, and that is what family all about.

Bookmark and Share

Brother & Me New Year's eve 2008

~ by simplyheavenfood on April 2, 2009.

8 Responses to “The Works…All in one Feast”

  1. You made all MY FAVORITE dishes too! Please tell Sam I said hi! xo

  2. those are awesome dishes! what a lucky brother! i would like to try the baklava and the stuffed zucchini. looks delicious!

  3. Delicious looking , yummy.

  4. Sam is lucky to have such a loving sister who cooks like that too! The stuffed squash are my favorite. You make this stuff sound and look so easy, but I know it’s anything but that. I love how fresh everything looks too. 🙂

    I’m sure the next time Sam asks you to come for a cup of tea and you tell him you can’t make it, he’ll be over the moon. I’d swap this meal for a cup of tea any day of the week. No offense to tea – I’m just sayin’.

  5. Thanks Phil! I would love to make stuffed squash for you guys! Oh how I wish you guys lived closer, we could have had dinner together tonight!

  6. Esalaams, We make stuffed courgettes here also in Algeria but with a white sauce. Yours looks abso delicious in the red sauce – how did you make the sauce?

    And what is this amazing looking diamonds dessert – the baklava?

  7. Too bad you don’t have the recipes for the above dishes and other dishes you have on your blog, it looks amazing ! I also would love to know how you made the sauce for the stuffed zucchinis.

  8. where are the recipes please???

Leave a Reply

 
