Chicken Enchiladas

Enchiladsa

I finally figured out how to get all of my family together at the dinner table. Just say it’s “Mexican Night” and oh boy… everyone is home and waiting for dinner!

I didn’t grow up with Mexican food, and am so happy that I was introduced to it when I came to America. My husband Ray took me to my first Mexican restaurant, and it was love at first site. I’m talking about the MEXICAN FOOD of course!!! Here I am, twenty two years later…trying to perfect it and I think I’m almost there… almost.

Below is my recipe for Chicken Enchiladas. I hope you enjoy it as much as my family does… and if you’re looking for a way to get your family together for dinner… just make this recipe and you’ll have a happy dinner table!

 

 

 Ingredients for green sauce:

1 ½ pound green tomatillos (Peeled)

1 cup water

1 bunch of cilantro chopped

2 table spoon of Olive oil

2 Jalapeno peppers (it depends how spicy you like it less or more)

Juice of 1 lemon

Juice of 2 limes

2 cloves of garlic (minced)

½ onion

½ tea spoon of all spice

½ tea spoon oregano

½ tea spoon black pepper

1 tea spoon of cumin

Salt to taste.

 

Preparation for green sauce:

Sauté peeled tomatillos for about 10 minutes

Place all ingredients in a blender

Blend it until all ingredients are fine like a purée

Place in a pan cook on low heat for about 30 to 35 minutes covered to thicken.

 

Ingredients for Enchiladas:

4 large chicken breast (boneless skinless) cooked and shredded

16 -18 corn tortillas (each breast should fill about 4 tortillas)

1 can of black olives

1 pound of cheese (choose from Mozzarella, Monterey Jack or Quesco Fresco)

½ cup sour cream (optional)

Salt to test for chicken

Vegetable oil for frying tortilla

 

 

Preparation for enchiladas:

Heat oil; cook the tortillas individually for about 30 seconds each (cook about 15 second on each side) avoid over cooking it so you can wrap it

Let it cool down for about 5 to 10 minutes

Add half of the green sauce over the chicken mix well

Add olives

Place the chicken over the tortilla add some cheese and roll

Line them up close to each other so they stay put.

Add cheese to the top of it

Pre heat oven 375 Fahrenheit, bake for about 10 minutes

Add the remainder of the green sauce and bake for about 20 minutes.

Let it stand for 5 minutes serve worm & ENJOY!

 

 

Chicken Enchiladas on Foodista

~ by simplyheavenfood on March 11, 2009.

2 Responses to “Chicken Enchiladas”

  1. This looks really good!

Leave a Reply

 
