Chicken Breast Stuffed w/ Mozzarella & wrapped w/ Mortadella

 

My father loved to cook, and I would like to dedicate this dish in his memory because I love him and miss him dearly. Fridays were usually the only day that he got the opportunity to cook (because Friday was the traditional week-end in Syria), and he would make the family something special that we all enjoyed.

Growing up, I always anticipated Friday’s meal because that meant I got to spend special one-on-one time preparing food with my dad. When I left Damascus and moved to California my parents came to visit us several times. I made sure my dad kept the tradition going and let his grandchildren enjoy his special dishes. Watching them together in the kitchen always brought those special memories for me.

I made this dish last Friday and the children enjoyed helping me prepare the food, as we all remember their wonderful grandfather.

 

 

Ingredients:

6 chicken breasts

12 oz Mortadella

12 oz mozzarella cheese

3/ 4 cup all purpose flour

2 eggs

3 tea spoons sumac

1 tea spoon all spice

1 tea spoon cumin

1 tea spoon paprika (spicy or mild)

1 tea spoon black peppers

4 table spoons ghee (each 2 spoons for cooking 3 breasts)

2 table spoons pomegranate molasses

Salt to your taste (I used about 2 tea spoon of kosher salt)

Because it is filling usually I don’t sever with starch, I like t0 use fruits or vegetables for sides.

I served it with 1 package of Blackberries and 2 Mangos. (my kids like it)

Also you can serve it with salad of your choice. (My husband prefer it with salad & fruits)

 

Preparations:

Follow the photos for easy directions.

Before you cook the chicken make slice all the way in (try to be in the center)

Dip in eggs then flour and let it stand for about 5 minutes; cook the chicken until well done (cook about 20 minutes on low heat turning every 5 minutes)

Set aside and let it cool down.

Assembling time “which is the fun time for me” stuff the chicken with Mozzarella cheese then wrap it with mortadella. Cover well with foil place in a preheated oven (400) for ten minutes. Serve worm while the cheese melted and yummy!

Enjoy!

Chicken Breast Stuffed with Mozzarella & wrapped in Mortadella -14-

 

Chicken Breast Stuffed with Mozzarella & wrapped in Mortadella dusted with Sumac

 

Chicken Breast Stuffed with Mozzarella & wrapped in Mortadella dusted with Sumac

 

Chicken Breast Stuffed with Mozzarella & wrapped in Mortadella dusted with Sumac -4-

 

Chicken Breast Stuffed with Mozzarella & wrapped in Mortadella-7-

 

Chicken Breast Stuffed with Mozzarella & wrapped in Mortadella -6-

 

Chicken Breast Stuffed with Mozzarella & wrapped in Mortadella-8-

 

Chicken Breast Stuffed with Mozzarella & wrapped in Mortadella dusted with Sumac -9-

 

Chicken Breast Stuffed with Mozzarella & wrapped in Mortadella-10-

 

Chicken Breast Stuffed with Mozzarella & wrapped in Mortadella dusted with Sumac

 

Chicken Breast Stuffed with Mozzarella & wrapped in Mortadella-12-

 

Chicken Breast Stuffed with Mozzarella & wrapped in Mortadella-13

 

Chicken Breast Stuffed with Mozzarella & wrapped in Mortadella-15-

 


Bookmark and Share

~ by simplyheavenfood on May 31, 2009.

30 Responses to “Chicken Breast Stuffed w/ Mozzarella & wrapped w/ Mortadella”

  1. What beautiful plates! I love the pomegranate molasses – what a great touch.

    The pocket in the chicken is perfection. How do you get that perfectly cut pocket all the way into the chicken breast? Is there any special knife you recommend? Paring knife, filet knife? That’s a precision job you did on those breasts.

    This really looks fantastic, and I have never seen this dish before. Chicken, mozzarella and mortadella — what a beautiful combination.

  2. Thank you Phil! Actually the pomegranate went really well with this dish (little sweet and little sour) perfect for the chicken.

    Ray gave me this knife last Christmas, its so good it make me want to chop, cut and cook. And yes it is a large paring knife.
    Thank you!
    xo

  3. This looks great, but I must admit I’ve never heard of pomegranate molassess! I’m in Australia so not sure if we can even get it here. But I will try without it.
    Thanks
    Samantha
    Cooking Finder

  4. it looks simply divine and well inspiring and I loved the step by step really shows that some work went to get these eye popping results, I think is definitely gastro, well presented full flavoured and the visual is just great, the textures I can only imagine them cheers :) kisses xx

  5. I love that you cooked this with your kids, to remember your father. What a wonderful tradition!

    And since I usually eat only low-carb at home (so I can eat whatever when I eat out), I will certainly be making this chicken recipe (very few carbs without the molasses).

    Yum and YUM!

  6. Such a sweet family story and, as usual, a delicious looking dish!

  7. Such a sweet family story and, as usual, a delicious looking dish!
    BTW I love your blog!

  8. Hi Samantha! Thank you for your nice comment! I am sure you can try it without the pomegranate molasses and use your favorite dipping sauce.
    Enjoy!

    Hi Rico! Thank you so much for continues visiting to my site, and leaving these nice comments, very much appreciated.

    Hi Jo! Thank you so much… I really enjoy cooking with my kid and I have been trying to add SOME of my tradition to our life style and the outcome has been great!
    Also I hope you enjoy the dish when you make it.
    Thanks again xoxo

    Cheers every one!!

  9. This looks amazing. I’ll try it out this weekend.
    I love the pictures and the step by step. Just what I need ;)
    I’d love to see you make shish-barack(Sp) the stuffed dough in yogurt sauce. (is that right?)

  10. Hi Iman! Thank you again for your nice comment!! I love “shish Barak” it’s an awesome dish; I will try to make it soon. (Since it’s a little time consuming dish) I will wait a couple of weeks until my kids off school to make it. But most defiantly I will make special request for you!
    Thank you.
    xo

  11. What a delicious tribute to your Dad! This is a wonderful chicken recipe with the mozzarella sandwiched inside and the sweet pomegranate molasses. What a nice touch!

  12. This looks very delicious and simple to make! If I didn’t have my dinner made already, I’d make this right now! Thanks for sharing!

  13. Thank you Reeni and Kamran!!!
    xx

  14. Afaf, That looks and sounds wonderful! I wish I was at your house on Friday:) I cannot believe all of your great photos, fantastic step by step. What a fun way to remember your father and meaningful for your kids too.

  15. Thank you Kristen! I wish you were at my house too :-)!!

  16. That looks so good. I love dishes with a sweet memory attached. Thanks for sharing!

  17. lovely explanation in images. I love the genius version of the French “cordon bleu” but better :P Yum

  18. Thank you Melody and jackie!!
    xx

  19. This looks delicious! I love the combination of mortadella and mozzarella.

  20. Oh MAN that looks amazing! Can I request this one the next time we get together?? :-)

    It looks simply awesome!!

    And your photo taking of the process is really inspiring (as it inspires me to want to give the recipe a try!)

    xo

  21. Wow!! This looks awesome! I love stuffed chicken breast. What a wonderful way to remember your father.

  22. This looks like wonderful comfort food and it looks delicious. And with your father’s memory connected to it as well – very special!

  23. Welcom to walima club.I love your blog ,it’s great and very rich.This receip look very delicious,I will try it soon.

  24. Oh, that looks so wonderful. I’m always looking for new things to do w/ chicken. This looks “Dinner-party” worthy!

  25. This is a very creative use of chicken breast, mortadella and cheese! I’m so glad you left a comment, which in turn allowed me to discover your blog too!

  26. What a beautiful dish in honor of your dad. Thanks for sharing with us.

  27. Hi Lori! Thank you, I am always TRYING to be creative with chicken breast!

    Hi Peter! Thank you, the pleasure is mine!

    Hi Hélène! Thank you, it’s great to visit your site too!

    Cheers to ALL!!
    xx

  28. I made this tonight to raves from the family. We love Middle Eastern food and I am looking forward to trying more of your recipes. I have a hard time following recipes exactly, and I adapted this slightly to include a sauce. To the pan in which I cooked the chicken, I deglazed it with some white wine and chicken stock, added the pomegranate molasses and reduced it, finished it with a swirled-in pat of butter, and it was delicious!

  29. Que pinta !mas rica tiene este plato!! Me ha encantado, tomo nota!
    Un abrazo y encantada de conocer tu blog!

  30. “Chicken Breast Stuffed w/ Mozzarella & wrapped w/ Mortadella SimplyHeavenFood.

    com” was a marvelous posting, cannot wait to examine more of ur articles.
    Time to waste several time on-line lol. Thanks for your effort ,Karine

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

