Albondigas Soup

This soup is a favorite of my family. I tried it approximately 18 years ago at my mother in-law’s home. I enjoyed it so much I had to try my hand at it. I found out the basic ingredients and went to work. I love to try different things when I cook, and I am not afraid of changing the taste, texture, or the look of a specific food. The way I make it might not be traditional but my friends are always asking for my recipe. The traditional recipe for Albondigas calls for rice however my family and I like it with potato instead. I hope you give my recipe a try and let me know what they think.

INGREDIENTS:
2 pounds ground beef
4 Mexican squash
4 potatoes OR (1/ 2 cup raw rice)
3 tomatoes, peeled & diced
1 bunch cilantro, chopped
1 small bunch celery
1/ 2 pound Carrots
2 eggs
1/ 2 cup bread crumbs
1 large onion, chopped (use half for meat balls and half for soup)
2 Green onions, chopped
2 garlic cloves, minced
2 quarts beef or chicken stock (also add about 1 1/ 2quart water)
1 tea spoon dried oregano
1 tea spoon dried basil
1/ 2 tea spoon cumin
1/ 2 tea spoon cayenne peppers (optional)
Thin slices of home made tortilla chips for garnish
Mexican blend cheese also for garnish
Juice of one lemon
Salt & peppers

PREPARATION:
First prepare the meatballs by mixing ground beef, 1 /2 of cilantros, onions, garlic, eggs, bread crumbs, cumin, oreganos, basil, salt & peppers, mix well
Form into medium size meatballs, and then sear them in the same pan you’re using for the soup for about 10 minutes, place on the side in a different bawl.
In the same pot (don’t wash it has the flavor from cooking meatballs) cook all onions for about 5 mints, add stock and water and all ingredients and seasonings, and then add meatballs. Bring to boil reduce heat to simmer for about 15-20 minutes
Garnish with fresh cilantro, chips and cheese.
ENJOY!

Albondigas1

 

Albondigas2

 

Albondigas3

 

Albondigas4

 

ALbondigas5

 

Albondigas Soup on Foodista

~ by simplyheavenfood on May 23, 2009.

16 Responses to “Albondigas Soup”

  1. I LOVE albondigas soup but have never had it home made! Looks so much better than any restaurant.

  2. Hi Simply Heaven the pictures make my mouth water. Going to try this will let you know how it comes out.

  3. Looks delicious and very healthy!

  4. How delicious! And what great comfort food. I like it with the potatoes too!

  5. Albondigas is one of my all-time favorite soups. It’s the Mexican version of Italian wedding soup, and I actually think I like it more than wedding soup. You add meatballs to pretty much any soup and it’s going to make it a hit.

    I really like that you provide pictures of your fresh ingredients too. It’s a reminder that this is how real food is prepared. Nothing artificial – it’s the real deal, and it’s why simple food tastes so much better than anything else. I would never have thought to use big chunks of red potato instead of rice, but I love the idea.

    Well done, Afaf!

  6. Afaf, your blog makes me miss home. I moved to Miami from New York about a year ago, and have not been able to eat with my family as often as I did at at home.

    I am Armenian, and grew up cooking and eating the foods that you showcase. Your photographs are beautiful, and recipes ones that I hold close to my heart.

    I always cook with a Middle Eastern flare, but I am going to use your blog to get my recipes more on point. I think that cooking is more than eating and preparing food, it is keeping traditions alive.

    Again, fantastic blog. I have added you to my blog roll on FoodOfMiami.com. Great great great work!

    • Ashley, Thank you so much for your nice comments! And good luck on your move to Miami… I’m glad you will be following my blog for recipes.
      Please let me know of any recipe you LIKE I WILL POST IT for you. Best wishes to you and your family!
      Thanks again
      XO
      Afaf.

  7. Your soup looks incredible! I’d love to try this with ground turkey for the meatballs.

  8. Looks absolutely delicious … love it .. Laila .. http://lailablogs.com/

  9. Hello Laila!
    Thank you so much for your nice comment!
    xo

  10. I made your soup followed your directions and we loved it!!! We all liked the variation of potatoes and it was delicious!!! This will be a regular for our family from now on thanks. Can’t wait to see what’s next!!!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

