Sweet Cream & Walnuts with Kumquat Marmalade

Sweet Cheese Dessert & Baby oranges Marmalade

 

Sweet Cheese Dessert & Baby oranges Marmalade

 

Ingredients for orange marmalade:

3 pounds of fresh kumquats

3 cups sugar

1 ½ cup water

1 bunch fresh mint

Preparation:

Prepare the syrup by mixing 2 cups of sugar to 1 cup of water & fresh mint.

Let it boil for about 10 minutes until it becomes a little thick, Set aside.

Using a fork make a small holes in the kumquats and try to squeeze some of its juice out. (The juice a little sour inside)

Place in a pot add water, boil for about 10 minutes. Drain well add the oranges to the sugar syrup, mix well and let cook about at least 20 minutes, until you see it become like a marmalade. Let it cool down completely for at least 2 hours then chill for about 2 hours.

 

Sweet Cheese Dessert & Baby oranges Marmalade

 

Sweet Cheese Dessert & Baby oranges Marmalade

 

Prepare pan cakes according to the bag, adding a very little extra water to the batter, so the pancakes not thick. You can also use butter milk pancakes.

Cook the bottom side well; leaving the top dry but not well done. It gives it better texture.

Make about 20-25 small pieces

 

Sweet Cheese Dessert & Baby oranges Marmalade

 

Ingredient for filling:

32 oz of heavy cream

4 full table spoons corn starch

½ cup walnuts

 

Preparation for fillings

Mix corn starch in heavy cream while the cream is cold mix well.

Must keep whisking it until it star boiling, for about 5 minutes

You will notice that the cream is starting to get thick and that’s what we want.

Remove from heat; let it cool for about 15 minutes, place in the refrigerator for 2 hours.

When you are ready to assemble every thing. Take out and mix it a little.

 

 

 

Sweet Cheese Dessert & Baby oranges Marmalade

 The heavy cream after cooking, chilling & mixing

Sweet Cheese Dessert & Baby oranges Marmalade

Hint: make sure you drizzle enough syrup over the cream (after assembling), its supposed to taste sweet. Enjoy!!

Sweet Cheese Dessert & Baby oranges Marmalade

~ by simplyheavenfood on March 21, 2009.

8 Responses to “Sweet Cream & Walnuts with Kumquat Marmalade”

  1. I would eat twenty right now.

  2. Wow, I’ve never heard of baby oranges. This looks really delicious. Where would I find them?

  3. Diana; Thank you again for visiting my blog… baby oranges are Kumquats, you can find them usually in produce section.

  4. Hello sweet Afaf
    I do not know if it is a coincidence or that was”Traffic feed” hahahaha
    I visited your blog the day before you commented on mine.
    I really loved it,,, I was looking and collecting all “arab food bloggers”.
    I put your blog link in my favorite list because I wanted to talk to you about a nice project we are”some arab food bloggers” working on it these past few days.
    I will send you an e.mail as soon as I can, to tell you more details.
    Anyway , this visit and this comment is just to tell you that I really like your blog, you are very talented and you have an amazing “tallah” .
    wish you all the best and very happy to find you and your blog.
    By the way… I made my first kumquat’s marmelade last year, you made me feel that i have to make it this year too…and your serving is wonderful, I will try this one.
    Thanks dear and have a nice day.
    Chahira

    http://chahirakitchen.blogspot.com/

    http://chahiraelkhabira.blogspot.com/

  5. These look so good! I have never known quite what to do w/ Kumquat’s before…now I do! :)

  6. That looks wonderful!

  7. They look so darn delicious and I find that you have balanced them really well with the fruit, dried fruit (walnut and finally the syrup running from the cooked fruit…I simply love it …well a little confession I love pancakes final anyway I can get them…unfortunatley I can’t get those, unless I make them..cheers

  8. Thank you every one for your beautiful comments! I do appreciated .

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

